To give you an idea of the mammoth task this move was, we were moving from a 2 storey house with 3 bedrooms, lounge, dining, play room, and his and hers offices, into a 50ft x 20ft space with 2.5 bedrooms, lounge/dining and… no, that’s it. We had moved into this house from a 2 bedroom flat, but somehow everything exploded like mogwais when they get wet. In our case, everything had turned into crap not gremlins. So the move to the houseboat had to involve a serious downsize. Every cupboard was cleared into 5 different boxes representing 5 different destinations – houseboat, mother-in-law’s house, friend’s house for storage, charity, and rubbish. The Adventurer couldn’t quite get the hang of this system, particularly the rubbish box. Everything of his was vitally important to keep, that is when he was actually packing. He preferred to spend time on eBay buying things that we might eventually need, BUT DIDN’T NEED RIGHT NOW!!!

An example of this routine was a set of sensor security lights that run off your computer. “They’re amazing”, he informed me while I was scrubbing out the oven that was already that filthy when we moved in. “You’ll be able to log in while we’re out and see what the dog is up to on the boat.” I really don’t need to say anymore about that, do I? Except to say that when the lights arrived, many hours were spent trying to get them to work and now they are in one of the boxes of “vitally important stuff” that will never be thrown out.

Now, I’m not saying The Adventurer didn’t pull his weight. I’m just saying that some people do things gradually and methodically, while some just throw everything into the moving van as it’s rolling down the street. Each to his own.

Having a charity box was very community minded of me, I thought. I had some furniture that I hadn’t been able to find homes for, children’s clothes and toys, and bric-a-brac. I called St Helper-of-Movers and booked a time for them to come and pick up the goodies. Imagine my horror when they told me my trash was not good enough to be someone else’s treasure!!! I stood, appalled, as they rummaged through the boxes, dismissing this and that. I felt like one of the hopeful people on the Antiques Road Show being told that their heirloom is a fake. To rub salt into the wound, the younger one found The Adventurer’s old Nintendo Game, complete with original Mario Brothers cartridge, and said “Bargain! I’ll have this for myself.” I was feeling particularly uncharitable by that stage. When they left, I dragged all the boxes to the kerb, and our neighbours scavenged what was left.

Moving everything on to the boat was not an easy task, but was helped by the fact that there was no room for everything, and beds were already installed. Due to the local wharfs being quite busy during the day, we had to wait until night to make our move. Pulling a 50ft houseboat up to a wharf also means we have to watch the tides, the wind, and the rain. So moving furniture onto the boat was done over a couple of weeks due to these restrictions. Most nights there was no one around, but the night we had the most to move there was a group of teenagers hanging around a little gas stove in the park and fishing. We pulled up with the car and trailer and began unloading boxes, crates, pillows, quilts, and 2 red leather lounges. It was the lounges that got their attention. The looks on their faces was priceless. All they could manage was “What tha….?” I said “If you’re going to sit in the cold and fish you may as well do it in style”. My friend and I sat huddled on the couch, wrapped in a quilt watching episodes of Judge Judy on my iPhone while The Adventurer went back to bring the boat around. It was quite a sight.

Even funnier was when our 12volt fridge arrived. Not a little bar fridge, but full size. The Adventurer looked hilarious as he loaded the packaged fridge onto the dinghy and motored around to the boat.

It has now been 3 months since we first moved onto the boat. The boxes at the Mother-in-law’s house have all been sorted through, and The Adventurer’s rubbish has finally been thrown out. I can breathe a sigh of relief that we have actually finished the move.

